Seven Steps of Dragon Bombing

Dragon Bombing takes place in Seven steps in the following order: Making of the Dragon, Walking with the Dragon, Dotting of Dragon Eyes, Greeting the Dragon, Following the Dragon, Dragon Bombing, Ascension of the Dragon. Each of these steps requires the performance of traditional rituals and customs. Together with the series of events that have developed throughout the process, Dragon Bombing has become a much-celebrated local event in Miaoli and is now a major local festival incorporating traditional culture, fun, and creativity.

Making the Dragon

Making the Dragon During the early agricultural era, the Hakka community of Miaoli started the tradition of “Organizing a Dragon” (Hakka: forming

Read More »

Dragon Bombing

Dragon Bombing Hakka people have a saying, “The more the dragon is bombed the more prosperity it brings.” This means that the

Read More »